Town of Križevci
Križevci is one of the oldest medieval towns in Northern Croatia. Already in 1193 it gained the status of a free royal town.
This town of a long and turbulent past was host to 38 status meetings called „Sabor“, one of which was the infamous „bloody sabor of Križevci“ of the year 1397. The sabors were held in the church Sv. Križa, which the town allegedly was named after. Križevci is also known as the town of the eight church towers, to which it owes its distinctive silhouette. The church Sv. Križa dates from 1232 and contains a unique baroque marble altar from the year 1756 by Francesco Robba and a painted depiction of the „bloody sabor“ by Oton Iveković, which is eight meters broad and adorns an arch in the sanctuary.
The greek catholic diocese is owner of the most representative sacral building and the highest-value complex of the Greek catholic cathedral Presvetoga Trojstva as well as of the Bishop’s residence with its treasury and a library holding examples of books from the 15th and 16th century.
Križevci’s patron saint is St. Marko Križevčanin, who was the third Croat to be canonised. His day, September 7th, attracts a big number of believers to the town each year.
The town has always been an important centre of education and schooling. One of the first reading rooms of Croatia was opened here in 1839, and already in 1860 the Institute of Economy and Forestry was put in place.
Križevci is the birth town of the statutes of Križevci, a written rulebook on good table manners that was known already in the 18th century. Without it, real celebrations and amusements were hardly conceivable. The statutes of Križevci were written by cheerful, generous and well meaning people who loved the good wines, for which the Križevci and Kalnik region has always been famous.
In the course of the year, numerous events are taking place in town, starting from the most well known Križevačko veliko Spravišče, which for nearly half a century has given Križevci the reputation to be a very hospitable place. Among the other events, the celebration in honour of the wine saints Sv. Vinko („Vincekovo“) and Sv. Martin („Martinje“) are worth mentioning as well as the Križevci carnival, the days of the Croatians saints and blesseds, the trade and crafts fair of the County of Koprivnica-Križevci and the day of St. Marko Križevčanin.
Town of Zalakaros
Karos was first mentioned in a written charter in 1254. In the life of the people, the village economy has always played a prominent role in wine culture and wine production, animal husbandry.
. Looking back, our settlement has over three quarters of its millennial history, divided into two large parts. The first one is 711 years after 1254, and the second is the last 50 years. That is, what happened before the spa was born and everything that came about after that. Until 1965, there were only a few reports in Hungary about a small settlement that never reached a thousand people, which played a subordinate role in the ring of its larger neighbors.
The birth of the spa dates back to 1962, when hot water escaped to the sky instead of the anticipated black gold. The spa opened its doors on 1965 September 5th. On July 16, 2010, the threshold of 20 million visitors was able to cross the threshold of the new building.
Parallel to the spa, the accommodation capacity has also increased in a seizure. As a result, the small village has developed rapidly and is still developing today.
Our settlement became a city on July 25, 1997.
With the indicators of tourism, we are in the top 10 in the national ranking, but we are also proud to be one of the safest, cleanest, most flowering cities in the country.
Slogan of our settlement: Immerse yourself in the wonders of nature! The sentence includes one of the wonders of nature: thermal water, our environment with fairy-tale values, forests, lakes, and landscape diversity. Kis-Balaton is a unique natural and historical treasure.
Zalakaros is a medieval market town that has proven to be able to live up to its abilities and opportunities.